Game movies – why do they suck so much?

sfmovie

Ever since 1993, gamers have had to endure crappy adaptations of their favourite video games. With every game movie that comes out, people have come to expect less and less, with the final product bearing little resemblance to the original game.  Why are movie games so terrible?

Super Mario Bros was the first in a long line of videogame to movie adaptations. At the time, SMB was a huge deal to gamers, and the name alone could turn water into wine. What we got instead, was a bucklet load of piss that set the expectation for every other game-movie that came after it. Dennis Hopper as King Coopa? Alternate dimensions? What the fuck? This confused the hell out of me as a kid, and thankfully, I seem to have repressed most of my memories of this terrible film.

Wing Commander, one of my favourite games of all time, was also given the the movie treatment.  When it was first announced, I was excited as hell.  After all, Wing Commander 3 and 4 were almost movies themselves already, how hard could it be?  What I felt when I watched it was like my childhood dreams being raped onscreen.  The story didn’t stick to the established canon at all, the fighters looked nothing like the ones from the game, and it left me totally disappointed and pissed off.

There are two parties at fault for this. One is the game developers/publishers, who are eager to dish out the licenses to their games to make a little extra on the side.  There’s really nothing wrong with this, except that it feels like once they manage to sell a license, they don’t seem to care or have much creative control over what happens in production.  Why don’t they care more about what happens to their IP?

The other, are the script writers, who have little respect for the original source material, who decide to warp the plot and characters as they see fit.  As a gamer and moviegoer, I feel insulted, because I feel that these people are trying to sell me a rubbish movie on it’s name alone.

Yes, you play a game for anywhere between 8-40 hours and the story is developed over that time.  Yes, there’s some changes that need to be made in order to make this story now fit into a 2-3 hour movie.  But then again, a lot happens in the Lord of the Rings books, and yet they’ve mananged to stay faithful to the original story somewhat.

But maybe there’s just some games out there that aren’t movie material.  Games don’t always fully flesh out back stories of characters or the setting always, nor is it always done via the game itself.   It might be found in other materials, like the game manual, or even a novel.  For example, if you dove straight into playing Halo 1 without reading the manual, you’d be pretty lost as to what’s going on.  For the game, it doesn’t really matter, because the action can carry the game.  I’m not so sure if you could get away in a movie without some lame recap segment or wasting precious screen time on setting up the story.

One upcoming game movie is the King of Fighters adaptation, which plot seems to be based on the Orochi saga from the games.  Here is the plot from KOF94-97 games:

KOF ’94: “Rugal Bernstein is an incredibly rich and notorious arms and drugs trafficker, as well as an incredibly skilled and ruthless fighter. Having become bored with the lack of competition, Rugal decides to host a new King of Fighters tournament. Rugal has his secretary travel to eight destinations around the world and invite fighters to his new tournament.”

KOF ’95: “Rugal Bernstein, thought to have perished in an explosion in the previous game, had in fact survived and sent out invitations to the teams from the previous game signed simply ‘R’.  Later we discover that Rugal has tapped into the power of an evil demon called Orochi.  After Rugal’s defeat,  the player finds out that Orochi’s followers are seeking to ressurect the demon.

KOF ’96: “The tournament is now held by Chizuru Kagura, the descendant of the ancient Yata Clan responsible for sealing the Orochi demon along with the Kusanagi and Yasanaki clan (the clans from Kyo Kusanagi and Iori Yagami, respectively). Chizuru wants to find the warrior who defeated Rugal in order to stop the upcoming Orochi threat.”

KOF ’97: “The tournament is held to gather power for Orochi’s awakening, unbeknown to the fighters.  Orochi is awakened, and the Yata, Kusanagi and Yanasaki clan must put aside old differences and unite once again to seal Orochi.”

I’ll admit, it’s not the greatest of stories, but there’s alot of decent material to work with.

And here is the ‘plot’ they’ve decided for the movie:

“The King of Fighters movie will introduce a new science fiction spin into the setting established in the games’ universe by following the surviving members of three legendary fighting clans who are continually whisked away to other dimensions by an evil power,” says insider blog Movieset.

“As the fighters enter each new world they battle that universe’s native defenders, while the force that brought them seeks to find a way to invade and infect our world.”

What the fuck.  There is a semblance of the original story in there somewhere, but the problem is this.  “The King of Fighters movie will introduce a new science fiction spin into the established setting…” . I for one knew this movie was a terrible idea already, but they really went out of their way to put some extra cheese on it.

S0 if you’re going to make all these changes, why base it off a video game in the first place?  After all you don’t need to pay for licenses, and you can avoid any pre-conceptions anyone might have with it being a video game movie.  For example, Legend of Chun-li boils down to a simple revenge story.  None of the characters have backstories that even resemble their game counterparts,  so why not have an original revenge story, rather than having a half-assed plot which tries to be different and the game at the same time?  It might actually make a decent movie.

There’s also a Prince of Persia: Sands of Time adaptation on the way.  As usual, they seem to have messed with plot ever so slightly, and I remain skeptical about this movie.  Also because it has Ben Kingsley as the villain.  When I think of Prince of Persia, I always think about the prince going up against an evil Vizier guy, who looks like Osama bin Laden.   Ben Kingsley reeks of cheesy and looks nothing like the part.

Of course, being a game movie rant, special mention goes out to Uwe Boll, who is the perfect example of what I have argued against so far.  Uwe Boll has made several unbelievably terrible game movies,  all with scripts that have barely any connection to the games themselves.  I’m not even sure why people keep giving him licenses to work with, because he completely disrespects the original game in every way.

I don’t think that screenwriters understand that when you make a video game adaptation, most of the people watching it will be fans of the game.  As a fan, I want to see:

  1. Respect for the original source material.   Stick to the canon established by the games.   Of course there will need to be ‘some’ edits, but the main facts must remain the same.  If you want changes, make an original story that sticks to canon!
  2. The art direction must remain the same.  If there’s ever a Halo movie, Master Chief must be exactly the same, the Warthog must be exactly the same, etc.
  3. References to parts of the games themselves.  Resident Evil: Apocalypse sort of had this, paying homage to the incredibly bullshit scene in Code Veronica where Claire drops the pistol, then somehow falls down faster than it to pick it up at the last second and shoots a red barrel.  Doom also tried to do this with it’s crappy FPS sequence, but it was totally out of context and tacked on.  If there’s ever a God of War movie, I’d like to see Kratos complain about that stupid spinning spike thing  he has to climb while he’s in hell.

If any of this has to go, THEN DON’T MAKE A FUCKING MOVIE OUT OF IT FOR GOD’S SAKE.

The only ‘movie’ to ever get this right, is Street Fighter II: The Animated Movie.  Not the terrible Jean Claude Van Damme one mind you.   But sadly, it doesn’t count as it’s an animated feature, and created in Japan.  Even with all the shit game movies we’ve had so far I still have some hope for the Halo movie. Whether this will be an adaptation of the game itself, or a prequel story is yet to be known, but with Peter Jackson at the helm, there is a chance in hell it may turn out ‘okay’ yet!

2 Responses to “Game movies – why do they suck so much?”


  1. 1 drdistracto707 April 28, 2009 at 6:37 am

    the only videogame movie that seems to have any potential is Bioshock. It has a wonderful source material, a great director set up as well as a great screen writer

  2. 2 shockwave play2win June 8, 2013 at 5:22 am

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back later on. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great job, have a nice morning!
    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be just what
    I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on
    a lot of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome web log!

    My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different website and thought
    I might as well check things out. I like what I see so
    now i’m following you. Look forward to going over your web page yet again.
    I like what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and coverage! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to
    blogroll.
    Hi there I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really
    found you by mistake, while I was researching on Digg for
    something else, Regardless I am here now and would
    just like to say thanks a lot for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at
    the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more,
    Please do keep up the superb work.
    Admiring the dedication you put into your website and detailed information you present.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Hi! I’ve been reading your website for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic work!
    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?
    I’m curious to find out what blog platform you have been utilizing?

    I’m having some small security problems with my latest blog and I’d like to find something more risk-free.
    Do you have any solutions?
    Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
    blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for newbie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance. I must say you’ve done a very good job with this.

    Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Chrome.

    Exceptional Blog!
    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and
    sources back to your webpage? My blog site is in the
    exact same niche as yours and my users would certainly benefit from some of the information
    you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you.

    Thank you!
    Hello would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using? I’ve loaded
    your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a reasonable
    price? Thanks, I appreciate it!
    Superb website you have here but I was wanting to know if you
    knew of any message boards that cover the same
    topics discussed in this article? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Many thanks!
    Howdy! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects? Thanks!
    Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have developed some nice methods and we are looking to swap strategies with other folks, please shoot me an email if interested.
    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your blog.
    You have some really great posts and I feel I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Kudos!
    Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. But imagine if you added some great visuals or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and clips, this site could definitely be one of the most beneficial in its field. Terrific blog!
    Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme. Appreciate it
    Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?

    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style
    seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!
    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem solved soon. Kudos
    With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement? My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but
    it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization.
    Do you know any solutions to help reduce content from being ripped off?
    I’d really appreciate it.
    Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other websites? I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.
    Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to check it out. I’m
    definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Exceptional blog and fantastic design.
    Awesome blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own site soon but
    I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .

    . Any ideas? Kudos!
    My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on several websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there
    a way I can import all my wordpress posts into
    it? Any kind of help would be really appreciated!
    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot
    you an e-mail. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.
    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly
    donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group. Chat soon!
    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your
    blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you provide here
    and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .
    . I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, superb blog!
    Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured
    I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My website discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!
    Right now it appears like Movable Type is the preferred blogging platform available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is
    that what you are using on your blog?
    Excellent post however , I was wanting to know if
    you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Bless you!
    Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using
    the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!
    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Thanks a lot!
    Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!
    Hi! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at
    alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!
    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?
    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!
    The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!
    I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?
    Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving
    me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

    This design is steller! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my
    own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.

    Too cool!
    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to
    come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to
    create your theme? Fantastic work!
    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking
    back frequently!
    Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you
    Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, wonderful blog!
    Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never
    seem to get there! Thank you
    Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.

    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking
    about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? With thanks
    Greetings! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My web site looks weird when viewing from my iphone4.

    I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share. Cheers!
    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll
    go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on.

    Many thanks
    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. appreciate it
    Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty
    much the same layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

    Hi there just wanted to give you a brief heads
    up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not
    sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.
    Hi there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any html coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!
    Howdy this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding
    skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no backup.
    Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?
    Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new updates.
    Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins
    to protect against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve
    worked hard on. Any recommendations?
    Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results.
    If you know of any please share. Appreciate it!
    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a
    blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% sure.
    Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks
    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures
    on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.
    I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later on
    and see if the problem still exists.
    Hi there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the excellent work!
    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say excellent blog!


Leave a comment